Failing Forward, John C. Maxwell – Learn a New Definition of Failure

After leaving the Watchtower, Bible & Tract Society, I began reading and discovering any and every thing that would lead me to knowledge about success. I ran across this book Failing Forward by John C. Maxwell several years ago and highly recommend it. I prefer the audio version due to a lack of time to sit and read. Whether I’m driving in my car or cleaning my house, I’m plugged into some audio book learning something.

Being deprived of “secular” knowledge and trusting that the information contained in the Watchtower and Awake! Magazines were sufficient for life have left me playing catch up. Fortunately, everything about being one of Jehovah’s Witnesses was not bad; therefore, I was able to leverage my experiences to other areas in my life including my place of employment.

Anyway, I found this book to be a good investment of my time and actually sat through it three times. It is always good to visit the book for a refresher. It really puts a different perspective on life and how you approach various issues that arise. In fact, I’ve discovered that two people can face the exact same situation and both come away with different perspectives. It’s really all in how we view the issue.

When John C. Maxwell states that success is not a destination, he really hit the nail on the head. And this book gave me something different to ponder thus helping me to appreciate that I can still find a certain measure of success despite being in a cult for the first 30 years of my life! And thus, one of my successful accomplishments was getting out of the Watchtower.

After leaving the organization, I didn’t want to find myself complaining about my journey as a Jehovah’s Witness to the point where I failed to enjoy my newfound freedom.  I, therefore, implore others to get the most out of life while you still can! Always remember that as long as there is breath in your body, you have the potential to accomplish something.

Lady C

Failing Forward

Leave a Reply

